Question: How Do I Clear My IPhone To Sell It?

How do I clear my iPhone for resale?

Step 5: Erase your iPhoneLaunch the Settings app on your iPhone.Tap General.Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.Tap Erase All Content and Settings.Enter your passcode.Tap Erase iPhone.Tap Erase iPhone again to confirm.More items…•.

How do I delete someone else’s Apple ID without the password?

Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content & Settings. That’s because the Apps that are requesting an update are ones downloaded with another Apple ID. You will not be able to update those apps without that Apple ID password. However, you can delete the apps, and then redownload them from the App Store.

How do I clear my phone to sell it?

Go to Settings.Select System > Advanced > Reset options.You will be presented with three choices. … You’ll get a warning screen reminding you that your data that will be erased, along with all the accounts you’re currently signed into. … If you have a PIN or some other security setup, you’ll be asked to enter it.More items…•

How do I factory reset my iPhone with just the buttons?

Just press and hold both the Sleep/Wake and Home buttons simultaneously for at least 10 seconds, until you see the Apple logo. You can let go of both buttons after the Apple logo appears.Your phone will go through the usual process of starting up.You’ll be back in your home screen.

Can I give my iPhone to someone else?

You can give your old mobile phone to someone else, like a friend or family member, when upgrading to a newer handset. In the vast majority of cases, you’ll own your mobile phone providing you bought it on a Pay Monthly contract, on Pay As You Go or on a SIM-free basis. …

How do you reset an iPhone 6 for a new user?

Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. If you turned on Find My [device], you might need to enter your Apple ID and password.

Can you wipe a stolen iPhone?

To cut down on ‌iPhone‌ theft, Apple implemented a tool way back in iOS 7 called Activation Lock that renders an ‌iPhone‌ unusable without the owner’s Apple ID or password. … Your ‌iPhone‌ can even be wiped completely and it will still be locked down, making it almost useless to anyone but you.

Does taking out the SIM card delete everything?

Remove your SIM card: While most of the data that you store is kept on your internal storage or micro SD card, it’s still possible for contacts or call logs to be kept on your SIM card. … Again, though, the best way to secure your data is to keep your card.

Can a stolen iPhone be unlocked?

All in all, if you use a simple screen lock passcode or you disable Find My iPhone feature, your iPhone will be easily unlocked once it’s lost or stolen.

Does Find My iPhone turn off when factory reset?

A factory restore does not disable Find My Phone. Only turning it off before the device was restored, or knowing the password to the Apple ID that enabled it. When you’ve wiped your device, it should have popped the widow asking to log in to your Apple ID and disable Find My iPhone.

How do I factory reset my iPhone without password or iTunes?

Part 4: How to factory reset iPhone without iTunesDirectly go to “Settings” > General > Reset.Select the “Erase All Content and Settings” option.Enter your password and tap on “Erase iPhone”.

How do I delete an Apple ID from my iPhone 6?

How to Remove Your Apple ID from Your iPhoneOpen the Settings app on your iPhone. … Then tap your Apple ID at the top of the screen. … Next, tap iTunes & App Store.Then tap your Apple ID at the top of the screen.Next, tap View Apple ID. … Then tap Remove this Device. … Tap the back button to go back to your Apple ID page. … Scroll to the bottom and tap Sign Out.More items…•

How do I reset my iPhone for a new user?

The most straightforward route to resetting your phone is to enter the device’s Settings menu, and then tap “General,” “Reset” and “Erase All Content and Settings.” You may be asked to enter the device’s pass code or the Apple ID password of the original owner, so it’s best to go through this process with said owner.

What should I turn off when selling my iPhone?

8 Things You Need to Delete Before Selling Your iPhoneUnpair your Apple Watch. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch. … Back up your iPhone. … Turn off iMessage. … Turn off Activation Lock. … Sign out of iCloud. … Sign out of the iTunes & App Store. … Restore to factory settings. … Call your carrier to remove your iPhone from your account.

What happens if you put someone else’s SIM card in your phone?

Most Android phones will allow you to do that. However if the Android phone has sign-in or a password taking the SIM card out and putting in another sim card will lock the phone. And you will have to enter the correct password in order to use the phone.

Does erasing iPhone delete iCloud?

No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.

How do I remove an old owner’s Apple ID from my iPhone?

How to remove a previous owner’s Apple ID from a used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touchSign in to iCloud.com.Go to Find My iPhone.Select “All Devices” to open a list of devices linked to their account, and select the device to be removed.Click “Remove from Account”

What should I do before selling my iPhone?

9 Things You Must Do Before You Sell, or Trade-in Your iPhoneUnpair Apple Watch.Back up your iPhone.Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store.Turn off Find My iPhone.Deregister iMessage on your iPhone.Erase all your iPhone’s Data and Settings.Remove iPhone From Your Apple ID Account.Unlock your phone.

How do I get rid of someone else’s Apple ID on my iPhone?

How to get rid of someone else’s Apple ID on your iPhoneOpen Settings. Tap your name (or the previous owner’s name) at the top of the screen.Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap Sign Out. You then have to enter the previous owner’s Apple ID password.

Can I upgrade my phone and give it to someone else?

If you have multiple devices on your account and an upgrade is eligible to transfer, you can transfer that upgrade eligibility to another line that isn’t eligible yet. When you transfer eligibility from one line to another, the originally eligible line is no longer qualified to upgrade.